Food Drudgery Blues

My diet has been so crappy these last two months! But it’s under construction and should be back on track. Sigh.

I was great about my paleo-ish, lower-carb, veggie-heavy diet for 5 months. Then, my health went belly-up for four weeks, and then, I underwent a family crisis, and everything went to hell. But soft, I see a light at the end of the tunnel.

It is a light powered by…carrots. Carrots, forever. Oh…great.

I’m getting tired of my usual lunch rotation. I put together four days’ worth of lunches on Sunday night, grumbling to myself the whole way about the soft cheese wedges I’d been avoiding eating for so long. But I know I’ve got to knuckle down and eat these foods again, or reasonable analogs, if I want to get back on track with my weight loss and not go back up the yo-yo string to where I was before.

My brain says no more snap peas or strawberries. Well, who cares what my brain wants! It got me into this situation in the first place; it clearly doesn’t know what it’s doing! Except the part that is telling me to eat snap peas and strawberries. Unfair, you say? We practice discrimination ’round these parts against unfettered food cravings. We are all about the informed decision-making. Even if sometimes we let the cravings in through the side door and try not to tell the sheriff what’s going on.

Avoiding food boredom, or what’s new on my plate over the last few weeks:

  • Full-fat cottage cheese, 1/2 to 1 cup, with 1 teaspoon Smuckers All Fruit with Fiber raspberry jam.
  • Apples. APPLES APPLES APPLES. APPLES. It is time.
  • Hummus.
  • A wine called gewürztraminer. I can’t pronounce it, I can only drink it. I’m not a big fan of alcohol in general, but this hits the spot.
  • Canned artichokes hearts, mushrooms, and green beans, straight from the can.

The other day, I realized that I was craving salty foods. I eat a lot of minimally processed foods and low sodium foods when I have a choice, so I wondered if I was skewing my salt intake way too low. After doing some reading, I learned that I need to increase my water intake, as that’s a sign of dehydration and not necessarily a sign of some kind of mineral deficiency, like my brain automatically assumed. Why look in the most obvious place first! Let’s look for some deeper, awful cause instead of “DRINK WATER.” So, drink your damn water.

I’ve started also adding fiber gummy supplements back to my diet. Yep. I am officially old, even though the gumminess makes me feel like I’m taking something marketed to kids.

I dread the thought of firing up my apps for either Livestrong or Slimkicker and counting calories again, though I will probably start using the SK app more often to keep track of fitness, now that that’s once more on my mind. Counting calories gets very old very quickly. But if that’s what I need to do, then I’ll get it done. And hey, according to one of those apps, gewürztraminer only has about 120 calories for a 5-ounce serving and low carbs! I can get behind that!

I don’t always have to enjoy my food or my meals. It would be nice. I’m just not in the mindset for it now. But something will change, or I’ll adopt a new favorite food, or I’ll just get over it, and I’ll be happy again.

Did I mention…apples??????? BECAUSE…

Apples

APPLES.

Leave a Reply

